The Government Estate



This map depicts the real estate owned by the State for the fulfilment of government's tasks. The government estate includes office buildings, national forests, nature areas, accommodation for asylum seekers, railways, national roads, defence properties and prisons. The government estate is divided among eight government agencies: Centraal Orgaan opvang asielzoekers (Central Agency for the Reception of Asylum Seekers), Dienst Vastgoed Defensie (Defence Infrastructure Agency), Rijksvastgoed- en ontwikkelingsbedrijf (State Property and Development Agency), Dienst Landelijk Gebied (Service for Land and Water Management), ProRail, Staatsbosbeheer (National Forest Service), Rijksgebouwendienst (Government Buildings Agency) and Rijkswaterstaat (Directorate-General for Public Works and Water Management).

These eight agencies collaborate in the Raad voor Vastgoed Rijksoverheid (Real Estate Council), or RVR.

The aim of RVR is to strengthen the position of government on the property market, so that real estate that is needed to fulfil policy objectives is provided at the lowest possible cost. The agencies' collaboration encompasses buying and selling real estate, as well as real estate development and management. RVR is supported by the Real Estate Project Department, which falls under the Ministry of Finance.



©2009 Kadaster, Apeldoorn